Mission: Citizen
M-C Banner 2.png


About Mission: Citizen

Mission: Citizen was founded by six Lincoln High School Constitution Team members in 2009. It continues today as a student-run nonprofit based in Portland, Oregon. Our passion for teaching manifests itself in a series of free, eight week classes designed to provide a basis in American history, citizenship and current events. Classes are open to anyone, but we cater to green card holders trying to pass the citizenship test. However, as we emphasize, it's more than the test: we prepare for citizenship.


On June 11, 2009, a group of six motivated Lincoln High School Constitution Team alumni decided to use their knowledge of civics to benefit their community. They established Mission:Citizen, a citizenship education program that emphasizes the importance of being an active and engaged citizen.

The legacy the Founders began has been continued and expanded by new faces from Lincoln High’s Constitution Team. Today, the Executive Committee consists of a condensed four official positions (Executive Director, VP of Business Affairs, VP of Academic Affairs, and Media Manager) from the original six. A system of committees and a dedicated body of instructors round out the staff. Combined, the instructors are able to speak Spanish, French, German, Korean, Russian, and Mandarin. They use their foreign language skills to ensure students fully understand concepts while keeping in mind that competence in English is essential to passing the exam.

Our goal is to guide students through the naturalization process and prepare students to pass the citizenship test. Ultimately, we hope to encourage civic engagement in America’s future citizens, including educated voting, participation in community forums and voluntary associations, and understanding the rights and responsibilities that accompany US Citizenship.

Board of Directors

Jason Trombley Chair of the Board
Louis Wheatley Vice Chair of the Board & Founder
Naomi Dann Secretary of the Board & Founder
Stephen Griffith Board Member
Callie King-Guffey Founder & Board Member
Emilie Segura Founder & Board Member
Eugene Chung Founder
Max Dickinson Founder


Daniel Cohen Executive Director
Sheila Panyam Director of Education
Kate Weeks Director of Finance
David Charatan Director of Media


Abby Dalke
Alisha Zhao
Amelia Diana
Anna Smiley
Anya Jesson
Cassia Schuler
Charlie Gardner
Clara Schwab
Daniel Cohen
David Charatan
Ellie Kruse
Eve Selbie
George Wang
Haley Schulberg
Isaac Hoffman
Jack Sanders
Jamie Bikales
Jay Sharabu
Joanne Lee
Johanna Donnelly

John Ritchie
Jonah Sacks
Jonathan Cordisco
Josie Savaria-Watson
Julia Dodson
Kaela Lee
Kate Lambert
Kate LeBlanc
Kate Weeks
Kattie Abrams
Kelsey Dunn
Kevin Nguyen
Kiana Killian
Kiran Morrissey
Laurel McGrane
Lea Kapur
Macey Ferron Jones
Madelyn Johnson
Marin Chistensen
Mia Dalton

Michael Ioffe
Noah Glassman
Nolan Johnson
Oliver Risch
Olivia Loibner
Olivia Weissflog
Piper Kizziar
Ruby Belle Booth
Rylie Womer
Savannah Bowerfind
Serenity Wade
Sheila Panyam
Siri Rosenberg
Stella Wiswall
Teis Jayaswal
Tessa Cannon
Tyler Honn
Wesley Shin
Will Duffy
Zoie Brauser